Lumbini Province

JSP lawmakers signing in no-confidence motion against CM Pokharel appointed as ministers

Published On: April 19, 2021 05:10 PM NPT By: Rekha Bhusal

BUTWAL, April 19: In dramatic development, the embattled Chief Minister of Lumbini Province Shankar Pokharel has appointed four lawmakers of Janata Samajbadi Party (JSP) as ministers. The lawmaker being administered an oath of office and secrecy later today earlier signed in the no-confidence motion against Chief Minister Pokharel filed jointly by Nepali Congress(NC) and CPN (Maoist Center).

Chief Minister Pokharel reshuffled his cabinet shortly after two ministers belonging to the CPN (Maoist Ministers) – Kul Prasad KC and Sudarshan Baral – tendered resignation shortly before filing a no-confidence motion. 

The no-confidence motion against CM Pokharel was registered at the province assembly’s parliament secretariat earlier on Monday. The list of newly inducted ministers includes Bijaya Yadav, Santosh Pandey, Kalpana Pandey and Suman Rayamajhi. All of the members belong to Janata Samajbadi Party (JSP). 

With JSP provincial assembly members joining Pokharel-led cabinet, the fate of no-confidence motion has fallen uncertain. UML insiders say the position of Chief Minister Pokharel is still shaky as UML lawmakers close to Madhav Kumar Nepal-led faction could choose to cross the floor as they did in Karnali Province. 

Leave A Comment