JSP Chairman Yadav elected to HoR from Bara-2

Published On: April 26, 2023 09:00 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

BIRGUNJ, April 26: Janata Samajwadi Party (JSP) Chair Upendra Yadav has been elected as a member of the House of Representatives (HoR) from Bara district electoral constituency-2. As per the final vote count results announced last night, Chairman Yadav bagged 28, 415 votes while his closest contender Shiva Chandra Kushwaha of Janamat Party polled 23,334 votes. 

Similarly, CPN-UML candidate Purushottam Poudel got 10,216 votes while Ramesh Kharel of  Rastriya Swatantra Party collected 2,829 votes. Likewise, Arun Kumar Gyawali of  the Aam Janata Party got 2,738 votes, Sonalal Saha of Rastriya Prajatantra Party 119 votes, Kamarullah Ansari of Nagarik Unmukti Party 109 votes and Mukti Yadav of Nepal Workers and Peasants Party 60 votes.

A total of 68,887 voters cast their votes in the by-election held in Bara-2 constituency in the by-election held on Sunday.

Yadav was defeated by Dr CK Raut, Chairman of Janamat Party, in the Saptari electoral constituency number 2 in the election to the Member of House of Representatives held on November 20, 2022.

The HoR seat from Bara constituency 2 had fallen vacant after Ram Sahay Prasad Yadav of JSP, who was elected from this constituency, resigned as he was elected to the post of Vice President, necessitating the by-election. 

The Chief Returning Officer of Bara handed over the election certificate to the JSP Chairman Yadav last night. 


Leave A Comment