Jeevan Ram Shrestha elected chairperson of Nepal Olympic Committee

Published On: September 14, 2019 03:57 PM NPT By: Kamal Subedi  | @Inspiredkamal

KATHMANDU, Sept 14: Jeevan Ram Shrestha has been elected the chairperson of Nepal Olympic Committee (NOC) defeating his rival Umeshlal Shrestha by 7 votes. 

Shrestha has been re-elected to the post in an election held at the office of NOC at Satdobato, Lalitpur on Saturday. 

Nilendra Raj Shrestha of Jeevan Ram panel garnered a total of 15 votes to be elected as the General Secretary while closest rival Bikram Lakhe was short of 3 votes. 

In the election, Jyoti Rana has been elected as vice-chairperson securing the highest number of votes, 26. 

Election coordinator Lok Bhakta Rana informed Republica Online that Sunil Kumar Shrestha, Tej Bahadur Gurung, Ashok Ratna Bajracharya and Chaturananna Raj Baidhya have been elected as other vice-chairpersons. 

The election has picked Pitambar Timsina and Ratan Kumar Tandan as deputy-secretary and treasurer respectively. Keshav Kumar Bista, the former member secretary of National Sports Council who contested for the post of secretary, however, has suffered defeat. 

Speaking after the result announcement, newly- appointed chairperson Jeevan Ram Shrestha committed to bringing impacts in Nepali sports sector through collective effort and collaboration with all the concerned.

Leave A Comment