Local level restructuring

Jhapa to have 15 local level units

Published On: February 16, 2017 08:40 AM NPT By: Raju Adhikari

JHAPA, Feb 16: Amidst longstanding disputes, the technical committee of the Local Level Restructuring Commission has finally decided to have 15 local level units in Jhapa.

The committee, which has also figured out the wards of all the municipalities and village development committees, has claimed that no political party has any reservation against the decision and that it will be effective as soon as the report of the commission is implemented.

According to the assessment of the committee, there would be eight municipalities and seven VDCs in the district. The proposed municipalities are - Mechi, Damak, Kankai, Bhadrapur, Arjundhara, Shivasatakshi, Gauradaha and Birtamod. Kamal, Gaurigunj, Bharadashi, Jhapa, Buddhashanti, Haldibari and Kechankawal have been proposed as VDCs.

On the basis of the municipalities and VDCs, new wards have been figured out. There would be 15 wards in Mechinagar.  The technical committee has also demarked several village councils.

Leave A Comment