It’s official: Province 5 named as Lumbini, Deukhuri is its capital (with video)

Published On: October 6, 2020 07:25 PM NPT By: REKHA BHUSHAL AND BINOD PARIYAR

KATHMANDU, Oct 6: The Province 5 Assembly endorsed the proposal to name Province 5 as Lumbini and make Deukhuri its capital with a two-thirds majority in the assembly on Tuesday afternoon.

During a provincial assembly vote held after deliberations on the proposal, a total of 69 votes were cast in favor of the proposal while 13 provincial assembly members voted against the proposal. Likewise, four provincial assembly members abstained from voting. There are a total of 87 members in Province 5 Assembly.

Earlier today, the Nepali Congress had issued a whip to its provincial assembly members not to support the proposal tabled by the provincial government. Similarly, the ruling NCP had issued a whip to its provincial lawmakers to cast their votes for the proposal.

As soon as the proposal was tabled in the provincial assembly, the assembly members exchanged heated debates on the proposal. The NC lawmakers broke chairs and tables inside the assembly hall, inviting criticism from multiple quarters.



Leave A Comment