Infighting within parties over tickets

Published On: April 11, 2017 08:38 AM NPT By: Mithilesh Yadav

LAHAN, April 10: With just 33 days to go for the local-level elections, mayoral aspirants in Siraha are getting involved in intense infighting within their respective parties for tickets.

There are six municipalities in the district. In Lahan municipality, Achamit Lal Chaudhary, Sanil Mahato, Ram Sundar Chaudhary and Mahesh Chaudhary are among those eyeing nomination from the Nepali Congress (NC), while Lagan Lal Chaudhary is considered as strong candidate from Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP). 

CPN-UML and CPN (Maoist-Center) also have several potential candidates. In Dhangadi Municipality, Pancha Lal Mahato the frontrunner from the NC, while Uttar Bahadur Magar and Shiva Shankar Singh are hoping for the ticket from the UML. Likewise, Hari Narayan Chaudhary is among the top contenders from the Maoists.

Chandra Dev Yadav and Lal Babu Shah are among the potential candidates for the mayoral post in Gol Bazaar Municipality. From the CPN (Maoist-Center), Jagat Yadav, Ram Narayan Singh and Dev Nath Shah are some of the popular names. Shyam Shrestha, Yogendra Singh and Dharma Nath Mahato have been projected from the UML.

In Siraha Municipality, Dr Subash Yadav of the NC and Pramod Yadav of the UML are expected to win nominations from their respective parties.

Macherla Municipality has Arun Singh and Bharatkanta Aryal of the NC eyeing the top municipal posts, while Dilip Shaha and Shrawan Yadav are vying for nominations from the CPN (Maoist-Center).
Meanwhile, there are no candidates from Madhes-based parties given the United Democratic Madhesi Front (UDMF) has said it will not contest the elections unless the constitution is amended.

Leave A Comment