"I'll create a new history of good-governance", says PM Oli

Published On: July 11, 2018 05:42 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, July 11: Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli has said that the motto of 'Prosperous Nepal, Happy Nepali' could be achieved through good-governance and development and expressed his confidence of creating a new history of good governance in the country. 

At an award ceremony organized by the Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation in Kathmandu today, PM Oli committed, "I will continue working towards magnifying/ communal amity, national unity and tolerance. I make sure I will not have a tainted image and I have zero tolerance for corruption." 

Stating that the government was participating in the nation-building efforts vigorously, Oli asserted that the incumbent government formed in the people's mandate of two-thirds will function in compliance with laws, rules and regulations, the PM reaffirmed that the government will function securing goodwill and support from all the political parties. 

According to him, the government was aware of the fact that no citizen should have to go hungry and left without their basic needs-clothing and shelter. 

He mentioned that the social democratic system with social justice and equality would contribute towards uplifting citizens from below the poverty line. 

Hitting out at the comments on the communist government made by some leaders from the opposition party, PM Oli asked, "He who has struggled for democracy throughout his life and became the Prime Minister honoring the mandate of the people is a threat to democracy?" 

Oli clarified that he was unfazed of the criticism and would not give in to any snide remarks as according to him, criticism were already thrown at him the moment he assumed office as the head of the government. 

On a different note, the PM said that a new dimension was added to the bilateral ties between Nepal and India and Nepal and China and a new relationship based on equality was established during his premiership. 

Expressing his concerns about promoting art, literature and litterateurs in the country, Oli shared that the awarding and honoring the talents in various sector of art, literature and music had been started when he took office as a Minister in 2051 BS. 

Terming art, literature and languages to be the mirror of the country, he said these sectors would contribute towards prosperity of the country. 

Similarly, Minister for Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation Rabindra Adhikari said that his Ministry was committee to achieve the government's motto of 'Prosperous Nepal, Happy Nepalis' and to uplift the art, literature, language and culture. 

Echoing with PM Oli, he said that government will move ahead taking support from the opposition party. 

Likewise, Chancellor at the Nepal Academy Ganga Prasad Uprety shared that some criteria were set up for the selection of the awardees. 

Bhagat Sarbajit Foundation President Chabilal Bishwakarma lauded the award ceremony and said that the culture of honoring the talents and promoting the hidden or budding talents had boosted the confidence of the litterateurs. 

Speaking on the behalf the today's awardees, Binaya Kasaju expressed his confidence that felicitation of the artists and literature would contribute towards advancing the art and literature. 

On the occasion, Prime Minister Oli presented awards, established by Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation, to various litterateurs. 

Prof Dr Ranjana Bajracharya (Kathmandu) under the category of culture, Prachanda Malla (Kathmandu) under the category of Music and Drama, Thakur Prasad Mainali (Kathmandu) under the category of Fine Arts and Prof Dr Keshav Prasad Upadhyay under the category of Language and Literature were honored with National Talent Award-2074 BS. The award carries a purse of Rs 100,000 and a letter of felicitation. 

Similarly, Kanchan Pudasaini (Kathmandu) under the category of poem, Tejram Khatiwada (Jhapa) under the category of Essay, Binaya Kasaju (Palpa) under the category of Child Literature, Maheshwor Raya Jaleshwor under the category of Language and Literature and Abhi Subedi (Terhathum) under the category of Fiction were feted with Mahakabi Laxmi Prasad Devkota National Award-2074 BS. The award carries a purse of Rs 100,000 and a letter of felicitation. 

Likewise, Gopal Prasad Rimal National Award, established by the Ministry from this year, was presented to Naresh Shakya (Sunsari) and Prof Dr Mohan Himamshu Thapa (Kathmandu) under the category of Drama. The award carries a purse of Rs 100,000 and a letter of felicitation. 

Meanwhile, Padamlal Bishwokarma (Ilam), Dalbir Bishwokarma (Kathmandu) and Rajerndra Kumar Maharjan (Kathmandu) were honored with Bhagat Sarbajit Manab Rastriya Puraskar. The award carries a purse of Rs 100,000 and a letter of felicitation. 
Various litterateurs were also honored with Provincial Talent Award towards four different categories. RSS


Leave A Comment