High-Level Education Commission seeks four-month term extension

Published On: February 2, 2018 03:30 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Feb 2: Failing to complete its task in the given time, the High-Level Education Commission has proposed that its term is extended by four months. The five-month term of the commission expires on Friday.

A meeting of the cabinet held on September 4, 2017 formed the 65-member commission headed by Deputy Prime Minister and Education Minister Gopal Man Shrestha and an 11-member high-level task force headed by former education minister Biddhyadhar Mallik, according to the Ministry of Education. 

The commissions was assigned to study the education frame, policy and implementation from beginners to university level students and analyze the federal structures within five months The taskforce was given the authority to identify prevalent problems of the sector and recommend an outline of long-term reforms. Another panel comprising noted educationists from the commission was also formed to work on the education policies.

“We have completed the first round of drafts of the assigned works,” said Suprabhat Bhandary, a member of the commission. “So, with the aim to complete its tasks in the next four months, the commission has asked the government to extend its term. The cabinet should take a decision to that effect,” he added.

The high level education commission headed by DPM Shrestha includes State Minister for Education Shesh Nath Adhikari, chairperson of Parliament's Women, Children and Senior Citizen, lawmakers Prof Dr Ganesh Man Gurung, Ganga Lal Tuladhar, Dhani Ram Paudel, Jeevan Pariyar, Umesh Shrestha and Gita Rana, Prof Kedar Bhakta Mathema, Prof Dr Suresh Raj Sharma, a member of the National Planning Commission, chairperson of TU Grants Commission,  Vice Chancellors of Tribhuvan University, Kathmandu University, Nepal Sanskrit University, Mid-west University and Open University. 

Likewise, other members of the commission are MoE secretary, secretaries at the Ministry of Finance and the Ministry of Federal Affairs and Local Development, chairpersons of Teachers Service Commission, TU Service Commission, National Examinations Board, vice chairperson of the Council for Technical Education and Vocational Training, president of Federation of Nepalese Chambers, Commerce and Industry, Dr Yuva Raj Sangraula, education experts Dr Man Prasad Wagle and Prof Biddhya Nath Koirala, representatives from teachers unions, private schools, teachers, guardians, school management committees and MoE Spokesman Dr Hari Prasad Lamsal as member-secretary.

Similarly, the high-level taskforce coordinated by Mallik includes MoE secretary Shrestha, Prof Dr Manohar Lal Shrestha, Prof Dr Shree Ram Bhakta Mathe, Prof Dr Amuda Shrestha, Prof Abdul Kaiyum, Dr Shree Krishna Yadav, Janardan Nepal, Mahashram Sharma, Som Paneru, and MoE Spokesperson Lamsal as member-secretary.

Leave A Comment