National Women’s and Men’s Volleyball

Help Nepal and Tribhuvan Army to vie for men’s volleyball title

Published On: March 3, 2018 09:15 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

New Diamond and Armed Police Force to fight for women’s title 

KATHMANDU, March 3: Help Nepal Sports Club and the departmental team Tribhuvan Army Club are set to clash in the finals of the fourth NST-NVA National Women’s and Men’s Volleyball Tournament on Saturday.

In the semifinals played at the National Sports Council’s Covered Hall in Tripureshwar on Friday, Help Nepal won a close fought battle against the departmental team Nepal Police Club in five sets of 25-21, 14-25, 25-22, 22-25, 15-12. Indian recruit Lalit Kumar collected 24 points aided by Prince Mallick’s 18 and Amrit KC’s 12 to propel Help Nepal to the final.

In another semifinal of the day, Tribhuwan Army defeated Armed Police Force in straight sets of 25-18, 25-21, 27-25.

Women’s Volleyball
In women’s category, popular rivals Shivam New Diamond Academy and the departmental team Armed Police Force will vie in the final for the women’s title.

In the first semifinal, New Diamond defeated departmental team Nepal Police Club  25-23, 21-25, 25-16, 28-26. New Diamond’s star Spiker Pratibha Mali contributed 38 points to lead her team to victory. 
Similarly, Pokhara’s Manju Gurung garnered 17 points whereas Aruna Shahi collected 11 points for New Diamond. National team players, Gurung and Shahi are playing for New Diamond after Western Region volleyball team did not participate in the tournament.

In women’s second semifinal of the day, deemed as ‘Departmental-Derby’, Armed Police overcame Tribhuvan Army Club in straight sets of 25-12, 25-11, 25-19. APF’s Saraswati Chaudhary contributed 20 points whereas Nebika Chaudhary finished the match with 15 points to propel their team to final.

The winners of the competition will receive Rs 150,000 each for men and women category whereas the runner-ups will take Rs 100,000 each and the third finishing teams will get Rs 60,000. 

The player-of-the-series for each category will get Rs 15,000 followed by Rs 5,000 for Best Blocker, Spiker, Libro, Serve and Coach of the tournament for each category.

Leave A Comment