Govt preparing to form panel to pick officials to transitional justice bodies

Published On: March 11, 2019 02:18 PM NPT

KATHMANDU, March 11: The government is making preparations to form a five-member committee under the coordination of a former chief justice of the Supreme Court to select office-bearers to the transitional justice commissions. 

Minister for Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs, Bhanubhakta Dhakal said the committee shall pick new office-bearers to the two transitional justice commissions constituted to establish the facts and truth of the conflict-time incidents. 

"The committee will select the persons to be nominated to the two commissions. Twelve years have already elapsed and now there should not be any delay in providing justice to the conflict victims," he said. 

The Law Minister said that the committee is being formed in keeping with the constitutional provision of forming a five-member committee under the convenorship of former Chief Justice and comprising the former chair of the National Human Rights Commission or any other person recommended by the Chair and three members from among the conflict survivors. 

The government had extended the term of the two transitional justice commissions by one year after the term of the commissions concluded on February 10, through an amendment to the related Act. 


Leave A Comment