Govt forms committee to probe NSU's VC

Published On: August 2, 2018 09:54 AM NPT

KATHMANDU, Aug 2: The government formed a four-member committee to probe into Nepal Sanskrit University's Vice-Chancellor Prof Dr Kul Prasad Koirala. 

The committee was mandated to submit a report to the government after carrying out investigation into Dr Koirala's attempt to go abroad without leave approval and allegations related to financial irregularities. 

Ministry of Education, Science and Technology formed the probe committee under the leadership of Prof Dr Ramman Shrestha. Other members in the committee are Prof Dr Laxmi Prasad Mainali of Nepal Law Campus, University Grants Commission's Dr Bikas Adhikari and joint-secretary Dev Kumari Guragain. 

Vice-Chancellor Prof Dr Koirala was barred from boarding a flight to Canada where he was travelling to attend the 17th World Sanskrit Summit last month. He was returned from the Tribhuvan International Airport for not getting approval from the concerned authority. 

Meanwhile, the Education Ministry has shared the information that the decision of Council of Ministers meeting held on July 30 had scrapped the decision of Executive Council of Agriculture and Forestry University, Rampur, Chitwan of granting affiliation to different campuses. RSS

Leave A Comment