Gaurika sets three more nat’l records, wins total 12 golds

Published On: April 25, 2019 12:30 PM NPT

NEPALGUNJ, April 25: On a day when five new national records were either improved or created, Tribhuvan Army Club’s Gaurika Singh on Wednesday managed to improve her three previous national records in swimming at the Eighth National Games in Nepalgunj.

Singh took her individual gold medal tally to 12 by winning four more -- including one in team event -- on the final day. She also improved three national records. Singh improved her own national record in 100 meters butterfly, outshone her opponent in 200 meters backstroke and 200 meters butterfly on three straight days. 

On the day, she improved the national record in 200 meters individual, 50 meters freestyle and 100 meters backstroke events. 

Singh won the gold medal in women’s 200 meters individual clocking 2.32.00 to break her previous record and win the gold medal. Her previous record was 2.32.51. Likewise, Army’s Duana Lama, timing 2.36.59, and Armed Police Force (APF) Club’s Tisha Shakya, completing the distance in 2.49.87, finished second and third respectively. 

In women’s 50 meters freestyle, Singh improved her national record to win the gold by covering the distance in 27.59. Her previous record was 27.95. Also, Army’s Sofia Shah, completing the distance in 28.94, and AP’s 

Shakya, clocking 29.43, stood second and third respectively. 

Also, in women’s 100 meters backstroke, Gaurika improved her national record distancing 1.7.22 to win the gold breaking the previous feat of 1.9.30. Likewise, Army’s Lama and Nepal Police Club’s Anushka Pokharel clocked 1.19.69 and 1.21.08 stood second and third respectively. 

Three players broke the national record in men’s 200 meters individual, but Police’s Sayed Hamza Shah won the gold medal. Shah timed 2.17.19 to win the gold and break the national record, while Non-Resident Nepali (NRN) team’s Nathan Dorje Sherpa and Army’s Anubhav Subba stood second and third respectively. Dorje clocked 2.21.31 and Subba timed 2.23.22 to break Sirish Gurung’s previous record of 2.26.17. 

In men’s 100 meters backstroke, NRN’s Sherpa also broke the national record to win the gold clocking 1.4.6. The previous record was set by Prasant Raj Joshi which was 1.7.6. Likewise, APF’s Tenzing Namdol Ryan Gurung and Nasir Hussain timed 1.9.53 and 1.10.97 finished second and third respectively. 

In men’s 50 meters freestyle, Army’s Alex Shah won the gold medal with the timing of 25.06, while Shah and Subba finished second and third clocking 25.96 and 26.22 respectively. 

Meanwhile, in women’s 4 × 100 meters freestyle relay, Army team comprising of Singh, Shah, Upaasti Maharjan and Lama won the gold timing 4.21.41, while Police and APF became second and third respectively. 

In men’s 4 × 100 meters freestyle relay, Police team comprising Shah, Dipankar Awale, Tarun Bhandari and Gaurab Lama won the gold timing 4.1.9, while Army and APF finished second and third respectively. 

Leave A Comment