Four ex-chief justices reach Supreme Court, submit written response

Published On: February 15, 2021 01:00 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Feb 15: Four former chief justices (CJs) reached the Supreme Court (SC) and submitted their written responses to an apex court order on the case of contempt of court filed against them.

CJs Min Bahadur Rayamajhi, Anup Raj Sharma, Kalyan Shrestha and Sushila Karki reached the apex court on Monday to produce their written responses.

A contempt of court case was registered at the Supreme Court against them after they issued a joint statement on January 8 against the government's act of dissolving the House of Representatives.  

The former CJs argued that the dissolution of the 275-member lower house of the federal parliament on December 20  by Prime Minister Oli goes against the spirit of the Constitution of Nepal.

Advocate Lochan Bhattarai filed the contempt of court case against them saying that they had committed contempt of court by issuing the joint statement on the case which was sub judice at the apex court.

A single bench of Justice Manoj Sharma on January 27 ordered the ex CJs to present themselves at the court with a written response to the case of contempt of court filed against him within seven days excluding travel time.



Leave A Comment