FNJ election put off after press union protest

Published On: February 15, 2017 11:04 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

TANAHUN, Feb 15: The Tanahun district election of Federation of Nepali Journalists (FNJ) has been put off due to strong protest of the district chapter of Nepal Press Union regarding new membership. 

NPU – a trade union of democratic journalists and media workers – did not allow the holding of 10th convention of the FNJ, Tanahun alleging that the central leadership of the FNJ had unilaterally enrolled new members to influence the election results. 

A team headed by NPU, Tanahun Chapter Chair Omkar Acharya put off the convention process by padlocking the office set up for the convention. 
Meanwhile, in Myagdi, Taranath Sharma has been elected the FNJ district chapter chair. The 5th convention held on Tuesday unanimously elected a new leadership for next term. 

Among other elected are Thakur Prasad Sharma and Rudra Kumari Khatry (Vice-Chairperson), Gorakhnath Subedi ((Secretary), Hari Krishna Gautam (Treasurer) and Kamal Khatry (Joint Secretary). 

Likewise, the convention has elected Surat KC, Prakash Poudel, Sabi Baniya, Shruba Sagar Sharma and Devi Prasad Sharma as central council members and Santosh Gautam, Ghanashyam Khadka, Nirmal Khatry, Ram Chandra Gautam, Pramod Sharma, Gita Mijar and Kamal Baniya as province council members. 

Similarly, in Gulmi, the fifth convention of the FNJ Gulmi district chapter on Tuesday unanimously elected Nawaraj Bhusal as the chair. 

The 15-member committee has Anil Khatri and Sita Bhandari (Vice-Chairperson), Top Lal Aryal (Secretary), Ghanashyam Kharel and Narayan Marasini (Joint Secretary) and Tejendra Kumar Shrestha (Treasurer). 
In Gorkha, the 5th convention of FNJ, Gorkha Chapter elected Kishor Jung Thapa as the chair unopposed. Thapa is the founder chair of FNJ, Gorkha. 

Likewise, Deepak Shrestha and Anupama Kharel were elected as Vice-Chairpersons under open and woman category, respectively. 

Among others elected are Narahari Sapkota (Secretary), Gunaraj Roka and Renu Shrestha (Joint-Secretary) and Hariram Uprety (Treasurer). RSS 

Leave A Comment