European T20 League announced for August

Published On: March 7, 2019 01:27 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, March 7: Cricket boards of Europe’s leading associate cricket nations -- Scotland, Netherlands, and Ireland -- have come to an agreement to host a new franchise-based European T20 cricket league sanctioned by Cricket Scotland, from August 30 to September 22 this year, as per information released by cricket board of Scotland in its website.

The new tournament will feature city-based six franchise teams, two from each country. It will involve 33 matches across the three countries in three stages: groups, semi-finals, and final. Each franchise will have a minimum of nine domestic players and a maximum of seven overseas players within their squads.  A minimum of six domestic players from the country of their representation must be included in playing XI. 

According to the official announcement of Cricket Scotland in its website, the tournament was developed following consultation with International Cricket Council (ICC) in a 10-year agreement with event and funding partners GS Holding Inc. and Woods Entertainment, and will be broadcast in cricket markets globally. A governing committee comprising representatives from GS Holding Inc/Woods and the participating cricket boards will be established to oversee the tournament.Malcolm Cannon, the chief executive of Cricket Scotland, revealed two major cities of Scotland to participate in the upcoming marquee event. He added that the tournament will be an ideal competition before the global ICC WT20 qualifiers. 

"The league also comes at an important time of year for Scotland, with the proposed timeframe presenting an opportunity to play quality competitive cricket ahead of the ICC T20 World Cup Global Qualifiers in UAE in October. We are excited to bring the global phenomenon of T20 franchise cricket to Scotland, with our vision to have two city-based teams in Glasgow and Edinburgh."


Leave A Comment