Election officers' offices set up in 32 districts

Published On: October 16, 2017 01:45 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATMANDU, Oct 16: The offices of election officers have been established in 32 districts of the country, where the first phase of the parliamentary and provincial elections, are taking place on November 26.

The election body said the offices were established on Sunday as part of making the upcoming polls a success.  According to Election Commission (EC) spokesman Navaraj Dhakal such offices are established in Taplejung, Panchthar, Khotang, Okhaldhunga, Bhojpur, Sankhuwasabha and Solukhumbu.

 Similarly, the offices of chief returning officers have been established in Nuwakot, Rasuwa, Dhading, Sindhupalchwok, Dolakha, Ramechhap districts of Province 3. The offices have also been established in Mustang, Manag, Myagdi, Baglung, Lamjung and Gorkha of Province 4 and Rukum (eastern) and Rolpa of Province 5 and Rukum (western), Jajarkot, Humla, Mugu, Jumla, Kalikot and Dolpa of Province 6, and Darchula, Bajhang, Bajura and Baitadi of Province 7. Polls related activities have begun in the districts soon after the offices were established, according to EC. 

CROs will be established in the remaining 45 districts, where second round of the elections are scheduled for December 7. 

Leave A Comment