Eight poll candidates are private school owners

Published On: November 18, 2017 01:10 AM NPT By: Ruby Rauniyar

KATHMANDU, Nov 17: Eight individuals who are owners of  private schools are contesting the  upcoming  elections  scheduled for November 26 and December 7.

These  private school operators are now busy in electioneering activities and have handed over the management of their schools to others. Among the eight candidates, seven belong to the Private and Boarding Schools Organization Nepal (PABSON) while one belongs to the National Private and Boarding Schools Association Nepal (NPABSAN).

Bijaya Sambahamphe, president of PABSON, is contesting  provincial assembly elections  in Tehrathum from the Nepali Congress.  “I have spent 28 years in education. I have become an election candidate in order to use my knowledge for the development of  society and the education sector,” he said. Sambahamphe runs Loyalty Academy at Dhumbarahi, Kathmandu and is also a member of the High Level Education Commission formed by the Ministry of Education.

Teju Lal Chaudhari, former president of  PABSON, is  parliamentlary candidate of the Nepali Congress for Saptari-4 . Chaudhari claimed that he is contesting the elections to uplift the country economically and socially. Chaudhari owns Nightingale School at Kupondole, Lalitpur and is currently state minister for sports. He was elected to parliament last time also  from Saptari district under first-past-the-post.

Similarly, Tank Bahadur Bhattarai, central treasurer of PABSON, is contesting for parliament on a Naya Shakti Party ticket from Terhathum. Bhattarai is owner of Annapurna Boarding School at Bagdole, Lalitpur.

Binod Devkota, district representative of PABSON Lalitpur, is contesting for parliament  from constituency -1  in his home district of Palpa. Independent candidate Devkota is the owner of Laligunras School at Badehaun, Lalitpur. “I think  it is better to work as a lawmaker rather than advise others as a school principal,” he said. “I am against  threatening voters and buying  votes.”

Ratna Maharjan, central member of PABSON, is contesting  for parliament  from  Lalitpur 2 on a Naya Shakti ticket. Maharjan is  owner of Kopila School at Sanagaun, Lalitpur.

Former parliamentarian Umesh Shrestha, who is founder of Little Angels School in Lalitpur, is a   proportional representation  candidate  from  Nepali Congress. “I have served four decades in the education sector. I want to promote   education that is job-oriented and skill-oriented,” Shrestha said.  He was member of the Women Children and Social Welfare Committee in the last parliament.

Gita Rana, former president of  NPABSAN, is contesting for parliament as an independent from Kailali-4. She became a member of parliament last time from the proportional representation quota of the MPRF Democratic party. 

Rana, the owner of Galaxy Public School in Kathmandu, said that she has worked for four decades in  education. “I am contesting the election as I am an experienced person,” she said.

Former member of PABSON Shanti Chaudhari has been named a  proportional representation candidate from Maoist Center for the provincial assembly of Province 7. 


Leave A Comment