Educational institutions in these cities to remain closed until May 14

Published On: April 19, 2021 08:02 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, April 19: The government has decided to close down all educational institutions in view of the outbreak of the second wave of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) triggered by the new variant.

A cabinet meeting held on Monday took a decision to this effect, according to Parbat Gurung, Minister for Communications and Information Technology.

Minister Gurung shared that all the schools, colleges, training centers and tuition centers are required to suspend their physical classes and operate classes virtually. The ongoing or scheduled examinations of the educational institutions, however, will take place adhering to the set health protocols.

The educational institutions in the following cities will remain closed until May 14, according to the recent Cabinet decision: 

1.       All the metropolis and municipalities in Kathmandu, Lalitpur and Bhaktapur

2.       All other metropolis including Biratnagar, Birgunj, Bharatpur and Pokhara

3.   Sub-metropolis  including Itahari, Dharan, Janakupur, Butwal, Ghorahi, Hetauda, Tulsipur, Nepalgunj, and Dhangadi

4. Municipalities including Mechinagar, Birtamod, Damak, Rajbiraj, Banepa, Dhulikhel, Siddharthanagar, Birendranagar,  Bhimdatta Nagar

Leave A Comment