EC submits NA election results to President Bhandari

Published On: January 29, 2020 07:40 PM NPT By: RSS

KATHMANDU, Jan 29: Chief Election Commission (CEC) Dinesh Kumar Thapaliya has submitted election results of the National Assembly members to President Bidya Devi Bhandari on Wednesday.

The NA election was held on held on January 23.

At a programme organised at Sheetal Niwas, CEC Thapaliya submitted the report as per National Assembly Member Election Act.

The election was held for 18 posts out of 19 for the National Assembly that would be vacant from coming March 3. A total of seven women from seven States under women category, two under Dalit category, two under disabled and marginalized community category and seven under other category were elected for the NA members.

The report has incorporated various issues including constitutional and legal provisions regarding formation of National Assembly, voters' list, election security, election programme, human resources and management, election code of conduct, election monitoring, voting, vote counting and result announcement.

Receiving the report, President Bhandari thanked all bodies involved in election including Election Commission's office bearers, other organisations and individuals for holding the election in a free and fair manner.

On the occasion, she inquired about participation of voters, voter education programme and invalid votes. CEC Thapaliya informed President Bhandari that there was enthusiastic participation of all bodies concerned in the election.

Election Commissioners, Narendra Dahal amd Ishwori Prasad Poudyal, EC's Secretary Deb Kumari Guragain, among others were present on the occasion.

Leave A Comment