EC recognizes CPN (Unified Socialist) and Democratic Socialist Party

Published On: August 25, 2021 10:09 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, August 25: The Election Commission (EC) has recognized the CPN (Unified Socialist) as a new political party. A meeting of the EC office bearers on Wednesday evening gave verification certificate to the CPN (Unified Socialist) led by Madhav Kumar Nepal.

According to the spokesperson of the Commission, Raj Kumar Shrestha, Secretary of the Election Commission Suresh Adhikari handed over the certificate of party registration to CPN(Unified Socialist) leader Rajendra Prasad Pandey.

The EC also recognized new political party, Democratic Socialist Party -led by Mahantha Thakur on Wednesday. A certificate of recognition was handed over to DSP leader Keshav Jha. 

After revolting from the CPN-UML, 56 central members and 30 parliamentarians had reached the EC earlier today to verify their signatures in favor of the new party. Based on the Ordinance on political parties, 2078 BS, party's central members and parliamentarians were called for verification from 11:30 am to 2 pm with required documents.

Of the 58 names proposed, only Bhaskar Kafle and Rabin Koirala could not be verified today. Former Prime Minister and the signature of senior party leader Jhala Nath Khanal has been verified by the Nepali Embassy in New Delhi, India.

Likewise, 29 members of the federal parliament also verified themselves in favor of the new party. Though the petitions of MPs Som Prasad Pandey, Mayadevi Gyawali and Sarada Bhatta were not signed, they reached the Commission on Wednesday for verification.

Following the split from the CPN (UML), the support of 41 central members out of the then existing 203 was required to get the new party's recognition. This is the second time that UML has split following 2054 BS over the issue related to the Mahakali treaty.

The Election Commission has also given party recognition to the Democratic Socialist Party Nepal led by leader Mahanta Thakur. Thakur led a group that disassociated themselves from the Janata Samajbadi Party, which is now led by Upendra Yadav.

Leave A Comment