Names of 74 candidates not submitting election expenses published

Published On: April 19, 2023 02:08 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, April 19: The Election Commission (EC) has published the names of 74 candidates who contested last year’s November 20 parliamentary elections but did not submit the details of the election expenses within the stipulated time.

Among them, 37 were contesting for the House of Representatives seats while the remaining 37 for the provincial assemblies, according to the EC.

They are subjected to clarification, said the EC according to which, they ought to make public the details within seven days with an explanation of justification and inform the election offices in concerned districts and provinces.

According to the House of Representatives Member Election Act, and the Province Assembly Member Election Act-2074 BS, political parties or candidates must submit their expenses statement to the office designated by the EC along with the bill of expenses incurred in the election within the 35 days from the date of announcement of the final results of the election.

Leave A Comment