EC books 30 parties

Published On: February 27, 2017 10:29 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Feb 27: The Election Commission (EC) has slapped a fine of Rs 100 to 11 parties including Naya Shakti Nepal (NSN) and Sanghiya Samajbadi Forum Nepal (SSFN) for not submitting the details of their annual income and expenditure in time. It has also booked additional 19 parties for submitting 'unrealistic' financial details. 

Issuing a public notice in the state-run Gorkhapatra daily, the election body on Sunday said that the NSN, headed by former Prime Minister Baburam Bhattarai, was booked for not submitting the details in time. Upendra Yadav-led SSFN, however, was booked for submitting arbitrary financial details. 

Other parties booked by the Election Commission for not submitting property details include Sanghiya Loktantrik Rastriya Mancha (Tharuhat), Dalit Janajti Party Nepal, Nepali Janata Dal, Nepal Nagarik Party, Shanti Party Nepal, Nagarik Samajbadi Party, Nepali Congress Rastrabadi, Churebhawar Rastriya Party and Churebhawar Rastriya Ekata Party Nepal. 

Along with SSFN Nepal, Purbarastrasewak Loktanrik Party, Rastriya Curebhawar party, Hamro Party, Nepalbad, Lokkalyankari Janata Party, Yuba Nepal-Party, Rastriya Trimul Bahujan Samajbadi Party, Matribhumi Nepal Party, Madhesi Janaadhikar Forum (Ganatantrik), Janata Dal Nepal, Shramik Janata Party Nepal among others were also booked as per election laws for submitting unrealistic financial details. 

The Election Commission has asked the parties to appear at its office and submit the fine within a week after publication of the public notice. 

Parties registered with the Election Commission, according to election laws, should furnish details of their income and expenditure within six months after the expiry of the fiscal year.

Leave A Comment