District offices finally removed in federal set-up after 15 months

Published On: October 11, 2018 04:30 AM NPT By: MAHESHWAR CHAMLING RAI

UDAYAPUR, Oct 11: Fifteen months after federalism came into effect, most of the district-based offices in Udayapur have finally been closed. As there was confusion over which government is responsible for handling state matters, these offices were not removed for long.

The District Development Committee (DDC), District Forest Office, Irrigation Sub-division Office, Drinking Water Division Office, Land Conservation Office, Agriculture Development Office, Public Health Office, Division Urban Development Office among others should have been scrapped since federalism came into effect. All these offices now fall under the provincial government. DDC was converted to District Coordination Committee (DCC) about a year ago.

Earlier, there were 13 area forest offices and three sector forest offices, which now have been converted to two divisions only. According to Lalbabu Yadav, information officer of the forest office, the new divisions of the forest office have been set up in Gaighat and Katari.

Bishnu Prasad Acharya has been appointed as the division chief in Gaighat while Dan Bahadur Shrestha as chief in Katari. Both of them have assumed their office since Monday.

Though the preparations were underway to place district hospital under local unit, the latest decision confirmed that it would be under the provincial government.

The officials working at Land Conservation Office, Agriculture Development Office and Public Health Office have already been transferred.

Leave A Comment