Distribution of ministerial berths among ruling coalition decided, NC to hold eight ministries

Published On: October 6, 2021 12:50 PM NPT By: Republica

KATHMANDU, Oct 6: The senior leaders of the ruling coalition have reached an agreement on the distribution of ministerial berths among themselves. Although the meeting held on Tuesday Morning at the official residence of the Prime Minister in Baluwatar reached an agreement on the issue of distribution of ministerial berths, Cabinet expansion is still uncertain. “The coalition has reached an agreement on the distribution of ministerial berths but it is unclear if the Cabinet will get full shape before Ghatasthapana,” a leader said.

According to the agreement reached, Nepali Congress (NC) will get a total of eight ministries including the post of the Prime Minister. Likewise, CPN (Maoist Center) will get six ministries while the CPN (Unified Socialist) and Janata Samajwadi Party (JSP) will get four ministries each, a source said. The NC, CPN (Unified Socialist) and CPN ( Maoist Center) will receive a state minister each while the JSP will receive the post of Deputy Speaker. 

As agreed, the NC will get the ministries of  communication and information technology, defense, women, children and sports. There is also a state minister appointed from the NC at the Ministry of Health and Population. The Ministry of Law will be given to CPN (Unified Socialist). Gyanendra Bahadur Karki, who is overseeing the Ministry of law will be shifted to the Ministry of Communication. 

Similarly, Pampha Bhusal, Umakanta Chaudhary, Minendra Rijal, Dilendra Prasad Badu, Tejulal Chaudhary, Rajan KC, Pramod Yadav are among the leaders who will be appointed minister in the quota received by the NC. 

The CPN (Maoist Center) will overtake the responsibilities of the ministries of education, science and technology, land management, cooperatives and poverty alleviation, and drinking water. Janardan Sharma and Pampa Bhusal are already handling the responsibilities of the Ministry of Finance and Energy. 

Similarly, the CPN (Unified Socialist) will undertake the responsibilities of ministries of law, urban development, labour and employment, culture and tourism. The CPN (Unified Socialist) will choose leaders among Birodh Khatiwada, Jeewan Ram Shrestha, Metmani Chaudhary, Ram Kumari Jhakri, Bhawani Khatung, Prem Ale and Kisan Shrestha to join the government. 

Likewise, the JSP has received the responsibilities of ministries of physical infrastructure and transport, agriculture and livestock, federal affairs and general administration and forest and environment. The responsibilities of choosing the ministers from the party has been given to party Chairman Upendra Yadav. 

According to sources, the parties in the ruling coalition had given the names of the ministers to PM Sher Bahadur Deuba at the meeting and had claimed that the Cabinet will get full shape on the Day of Ghatasthapana or on Friday.


Leave A Comment