Team Chauraha wins DPL title

Published On: April 13, 2018 04:12 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, April 13: Dhangadhi Team Chauraha has won the second Dhangadhi Premier League title along with a cash prize of Rs 2. 5 million by defeating Kathmandu Goldens in the final match on Friday. 

Team Chauraha emerged as the defending champion of the DPL again by restricting Kathmandu Goldens to paltry 160 runs while it was chasing 182 runs target. Team Chauraha defeated Kathmandu Goldens by 21 runs. 

Team Chauraha’s LS Bhandari grabbed highest three wickets giving away 22 runs in four overs.  Roshan Mustafa took two wickets giving away 46 runs while Samsad Sheikh and YS Karki grabbed one wicket each piling pressure on the opponent team. 

Chasing the 182-run target, Kathmandu Goldens’ A Shrestah made highest 58 runs including seven fours and three sixes, G Malla made 30 runs including one four and two sixes off 27 balls while Sunny Patel contributed 22 runs off 12 balls.

Right-hand batsman Sunil Dhamala top-scored with 78 runs studded with eight fours and three sixes off 63 balls before being bowled out by Suboth Bhati. Rohan Mustafa hit 60 runs including four fours and four sixes off 42 balls before being run out while the other batsmen did not reach double digits.

Team Chauraha’s Rohan Mustafa has been declared Man of the Match and Man of the Series title. He was given a pulsar bike. 

Similarly, Lalit Singh Bhandari has bagged the Most Valuable Player title along with a golden boot. He had taken 14 wickets during the match.

The first runner-up Kathmandu Goldens had to be content with Rs 1.5 million. 

Leave A Comment