Dhana wins Surya Nepal Western Open

Published On: February 15, 2020 10:02 AM NPT By: Republica

POKHARA, Feb 15: Dhana Bahadur Thapa won the Surya Nepal Western Open, the third event under the Surya Nepal Golf Tour in Pokhara on Friday.

In the tournament played at the par-69 Himalayan Golf Course, Thapa carded two-under 67 for a total score of four-under 207 and registered a two-stroke victory over Shiva Ram Shrestha. 

Former top pro Shiva Ram carded three-under 66 to finish second with the score of two-under 205. Sukra Bahadur Rai finished third with the score of three-over 210 as he scored one-over 70 each day. 

Thapa has won the event for the second time in his career and received Rs 125,000. Runner-up Shiva Ram bagged Rs 75,000, while Rai earned Rs 55,000.

Jayaram Shrestha (72) finished fourth at 212 and he received Rs 45,000, while Sanjay Lama (71) and Bhuwan Kumar Rokka were tied at fifth place with the score of 213 and pocketed Rs 35,500 each.  

Rabi Khadka finished seventh at 216 after he shot three-over 72 and received Rs 31,000, while Bhuwan Nagarkoti (75) and Ram Krishna Shrestha (72) shared the eighth position at 217 and they earned Rs 28,000 each. Binod Tamang (72) finished inside the top 10 with the total score of 221, he earned Rs 25,000.

Thapa, who was three-stroke ahead of Shiva Ram, extended the lead to four-stroke after making birdie on third hole, but Shiva Ram came back strongly making birdies on fourth, fifth and seventh holes to close the deficit to one-stroke. 

Thapa sank a birdie on the ninth hole to take one-stroke lead and further made a birdie on par-5 10th hole, where Shiva Ram faced a bogey. Both players made birdie on the par-5 15th and made pars on other holes. Dhana’s only blemish was on the last hole where he made double-bogey but he had four-shots in hand while teeing off on the last hole.

Niraj Tamang, who made a debut in this event, was disqualified for signing a wrong score.

In the amateur section, Jitendra Rai won the trophy with the score of 18-over 225 after he carded five-over 74 in the final round. Suresh Tamang was the distant second at 232, while Ajit BK came third at 234.

A total of 48 golfers, including 32 pros and 16 amateurs, took part in the 54-hole tournament organized by Nepal PGA under the sponsorship of Surya Nepal Pvt Ltd. 


Leave A Comment