Dhami, Maharjan win badminton singles titles

Published On: September 24, 2018 03:09 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Sept 24: Dipesh Dhami and Rasila Maharjan of departmental teams Armed Police Force (APF) Club and Tribhuvan Army Club, respectively, won the singles’ titles of the third Sunrise Zest National Open Badminton Tournament in their respective categories, on Sunday. 

In the final match of men’s single played at the Zest Badminton Academy Court at Basundhara in Kathmandu, Dhami beat two-time champion Ratnajit Tamang 2-1. Dhami won the best set quite easily 21-13, but Tamang replied boldly in the second set winning 21-18 to pull the game back on track. Dhami was strong again in the third set and won the set 21-18 to win the title. 

With the title win, Dhami was rewarded with Rs 30,000, while the losing finalist Tamang won Rs 15,000. 

In the women’s singles category, Maharjan saw off APF’s Jessica Gurung in straight sets of 2-0 to win the title. 

Maharjan overcame Gurung 21-19, 21-17. She had also won the U-15 girls’ singles title recently beating Kanchanpur’s Bishna Bista 21-6, 21-10. 

With the title win, Maharjan took home Rs 25,000, while the losing finalist Gurung bagged a cash prize of Rs 15,000.


Leave A Comment