Dhami claims titles under three badminton categories

Published On: March 30, 2019 08:59 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, March 30: Dipesh Dhami and Rasila Maharjan of departmental teams Armed Police Force (APF) Club and Tribhuvan Army Club, respectively, have won the 15th Krishna Mohan Memorial Open Badminton Tournament on Friday under men's and women's categories.

In the men’s singles category final match played at the APF’s covered hall in Halchowk, APF’s Dhami defeated Silk Group’s Prince Dahal 21-12, 18-21, 21-14 to lift the title. 

With the title win, Dhami took home a cash prize of Rs 60,000, while Dahal was given Rs 50,000. Not only in the men’s singles, Dhami also won the men’s doubles and mixed doubles. 

The last edition winner Army’s Ratnajit Tamang did not participate in this edition as he is training in Japan. 

Likewise, in the women’s singles, last year’s losing finalist Maharjan beat APF’s Jessica Gurung 21-14, 13-21, 21-18 to claim the title.

With the title win, she bagged a cash prize of Rs 50,000, while Gurung was rewarded with Rs 25,000. 
Earlier on Thursday, Maharjan also won the title in girls’ U-17 singles category. 
The winner of the last edition in women’s category, Army’s Nangsal Devi Tamang, did not participate the tournament citing personal problems. 

Similarly, in men’s doubles, the APF pair of Dhami and Bijit Thapa Magar lifted the title. Dhami and Magar saw off Army’s Praphul Maharjan and Suroj Maharjan 21-16, 21-4 to comfortably lift the title. 
In women’s doubles, APF’s Puja Shrestha defended her title as she and Jessica Gurung overcame Army’s Rasila Maharjan and Anu Maya Rai.  They beat the Army pair on straight sets of 21-10, 21-19 to clinch the title. 

The winning pair was rewarded with Rs 40,000, while Maharjan and Rai received Rs 25,000. 
Shrestha had paired with Sikshya Shrestha in the last edition and won the women’s doubles title. 

Leave A Comment