“Democracy and Journalism Award” to Ajaya Babu Siwakoti

Published On: May 28, 2020 11:40 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, May 28: The chief editor of Hamrakura online news portal Ajaya Babu Siwakoti is to be awarded with this year’s “Loktantra ra Patrakarita Puraskar” (Democracy and Journalism Award).

According to Janta Nepal, a member of the nomination committee, Tej Tirtha Trust has decided to honor journalist Siwakoti with the award.

Along with Siwakoti, the trust is providing the award (a cash prize of Rs 100,000) to Nirmala Acharya, a senior journalist and general manager of Rastriya Samachar Samiti (RSS). Both will be handed over certificates and cash prizes of Rs 50,000 each. Siwakoti is also the general secretary of Nepal Press Union. 

Similarly, the trust has decided to provide a cash prize of Rs 100,000 to Major Shiva Kangal. Also, “Jujubhai Nanimaiju Puraskar” is to be provided to historian Yogendraman Shrestha and Poetess Narayandevi Shrestha. They both will receive certificates and a cash prize of Rs 50,000 each.  

The trust has said that all the winners will receive the awards once the situation of COVID-19 gets normal in the country. Otherwise, the trust has been distributing the award on the occasion of the Republic Day every year.


Leave A Comment