Dauphins defeat Dharan to lift second title in five days

Published On: February 17, 2019 11:34 AM NPT By: Rohit Rai

DHARAN, Feb 16: Cameroon’s Dauphins Football Club has lifted the 21st Budha Subba Red Bull Gold Cup football tournament title defeating the host Dharan Football Club 3-2 in tie breaker on Saturday. 

This was the first time Dauphins participated the Budha Subba competition. 

The game was pushed into the tie breaker after the teams failed to find a goal in the regulated time. 
With the title win, Dauphins has taken home a cash prize of Rs 800,000, while the runner-up Dharan was rewarded with Rs 400,000. Dharan has been unable to lift the title at home despite playing the final five times. 

This is the second title Dauphins has won within a week in Nepal. Earlier, it won the Manakamana Cable Car Pokhara Cup five days ago. 

The physically robust Dauphins side got a lot of chances to score, but could not capitalize them. Around half a dozen Dauphins chances were saved by Dharan keeper Binay Shrestha to send the game into the tie breaker. Meanwhile, Dharan could not attack sufficiently to score a goal. 

In the tie breaker, Dharan’s Prakash Budhathoki scored for the team, while Dauphins keeper Priso saved Milan Rai’s spot kick, and Yogesh Rai’s third kick for Dharan went over the bar. 

Dauphins scored its first two penalties through Jo Angolo and Patenga, while Biek Biek and Ilem missed the kicks giving Dharan a glimmer of hope in the game. 

When Dharan’s Dorje Tamang scored his kick, the score was 2-2. But, in the deciding kick, Dauphins’ Yannick Owana scored, while Dharan’s Hemant Thapa Magar’s kick was saved by Priso to win the title for the Cameroonian side. 

Dauphins head coach Arel Inem said that his team had a hard time to win the match as the host played really well. “We missed a lot of chances, while Dharan played well,” Inem said, “But, we won the match and I want to thank Dharan Football Club for everything.” 

Dharan head coach Sagar Ghimire said that his players played well, but to lose in the tie breaker was a bad luck. “It was difficult to play against the Cameroonian players, but we played well. It was a bad luck losing in the tie breaker,’’ Ghimire said. 

Dharan keeper Binay Shrestha was named the man of the match and was rewarded with Rs 15,000. 

Dharan’s Bishnu Sunar was adjudged the best player of the tournament and was given a Honda Dio scooter. 
Dauphins’ Anjema Yannick won the highest goal scorer award and bagged a cash prize of Rs 35,000. 

Likewise, Dauphins’ Priso and Inem were given the best goalkeeper and the best coach awards respectively. Dharan’s Manoj Rai, Hemant Thapa and Milan Rai were named the best defender, the best midfielder and the best striker awards respectively. They all got Rs 25,000 each. 


Leave A Comment