CPN-UML PP meeting forms parliamentary board and statute amendment task force

Published On: March 18, 2021 02:05 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

The board also comprises dissident senior leaders Nepal and Khanal

KATHMANDU, March 18: A parliamentary party (PP) meeting of the ruling CPN-UML has formed a 24-memer parliamentary board and three-member statute amendment task force.

A meeting of the lawmakers close to the party’s Chairman and Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli that was held at the PM’s official residence in Baluwatar, formed a 27-member parliamentary board including party’s dissident leaders Madhav Kumar Nepal and Jhalanath Khanal. The board will be full-fledged after it gets three more members.

The parliamentary board is headed by the party's PP leader KP Sharma Oli. It also includes Subas Nembang, Sher Bahadur Tamang, Raghu Bir Mahaseth, Bhupendra Thapa, Khem Lohani, Sarita Dahal and Bimala BK, among others.

UML Chief Whip Bishal Bhattarai, Whip Shanta Chaudhary, Suman Pyakurel, Bimal Rai Paudyal, Binda Pandey, Radha Gyawali, Damodar Bhandari, Bidhya Bhattarai, Rekha Jha and Rajendra Rai are among those nominated to the board.

UML lawmaker Sher Bahadur Tamang said the next parliamentary party meeting has been scheduled for March 20. He said all lawmakers close to Nepal and Khanal will also attend the next PP meeting scheduled to be held at the Prime Minister's Residence in Baluwatar at 10 am.

Asked if the party was preparing to take action against those not attending the PP meeting, Tamang said no such discussion was taken in the meeting today.

According to Padam Giri, a lawmaker who attended today’s meeting, the meeting also decided to form a three-member taskforce to amend the party’s statute. The task force comprises Bishal Bhattarai, Bimala Rai Poudel and Sher Bahadur Tamang.

“More than 100 lawmakers of the House of Representatives attended today’s meeting,” according to Niru Devi Pal, an MP close to the Oli faction. 

The meeting took place at a time when intraparty rift within the CPN-UML is at its peak. Owing to the factional feud, the Madhav Kumar Nepal-led faction of the CPN-UML boycotted today’s parliamentary party meeting.

Leave A Comment