'Communist Party of Nepal' registered at Election Commission

Published On: May 17, 2018 09:36 PM NPT

KATHMANDU, May 17: Following a decision to unite, CPN-UML Chair KP Sharma Oli and CPN (Maoist Centre) Chair Pushpa Kamal Dahal went to the Election Commission today and filed an application for registration of the 'Communist Party of Nepal'. 

They told the EC that the two parties have become one, hence the registration was for a new unified party called Communist Party of Nepal. 

On the occasion, UML Chair and Prime Minister Oli said, "We have come for the official recognition with the formation of a joint central committee," he said.
Likewise, Maoist Centre Chair Dahal said the new party was being registered as per the democratic procedure to forge a unity between the two parties. The commitment made before the people for unity for development and prosperity of the nation. 

On the occasion, Chief Election Commissioner Dr Ayodhee Prasad Yadav congratulated the leaders for the unity among the two parties, which he said was a big achievement. "Fewer parties are better for democracy," he said.

Leader of UML Madhav Kumar Nepal, Minister for Defence Iswar Pokharel, Minister for Foreign Affairs Pradip Kumar Gyawali, Minister for Labour, Employment and Social Security Gokarna Raj Bista, Maoist centre leader Narayan Kaji Shrestha, Home Minister Ram Bahadur Thapa, spokesperson Pampha Bhusal, Energy Minister Barshaman Pun and ex-Speaker Onsari Ghartimagar and other leaders were present on the occasion. 

Leave A Comment