Chiribabu Maharjan secures victory as Lalitpur mayor for second term

Published On: May 25, 2022 09:10 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, May 25: Nepali Congress (NC) candidate Chiribabu Maharjan has been elected the mayor of Lalitpur Metropolitan City (LMC) for the second term. 

CPN-UML's Manjali Shakya emerged victorious to the deputy mayoral post in LMC. 

Maharjan secured 42,722 votes while his close contender Hari Krishna Byanjankar of CPN-UML received 24,560 votes. Likewise, deputy mayoral candidate Shakya got 25,085 votes to register her win. Her closest competitor Baburaj Bajracharya of CPN (Maoist Center) gathered 18, 752 votes. 

NC and UML have won equal 11 ward chairpersons in LMC. CPN (Maoist Center) emerged victorious in three wards, CPN (Unified Socialist) in two wards and independent candidates in two wards. 

Independent candidates Nirmal Tandukar and Ganesh KC won ward number 1 and 13. It took 11 days to publish final results of vote count in LMC.


Leave A Comment