Cash prize awarded to SAG medal winners

Published On: July 26, 2021 05:11 PM NPT By: Republica

KATHMANDU, July 26: The Nepal Athletics Association awarded cash prizes to medal winners of the 13th South Asian Games (SAG) which was held in Nepal in 2019. The association awarded the prizes to eight medal winners in a program organized on Monday.

The association awarded Rs 100,000 to gold medal winners, Rs 35,000 to silver medal winners and Rs 20,000 to bronze winners. The prizes were presented by Ekendra Kunwar, Acting Member Secretary of National Sports Council, Surya Bhandari, Member Secretary of Bagmati province, Rajiv Bikram Shah, President of Athletics Association and Former MP Kalpana Chaudhary (Basnet) to the medal winners.

Two years ago, Nepal had won three gold, one silver and four bronze medals in the athletics category at the 13th South Asian Games. Among the gold medalists, Santosh Shrestha won a gold medal in the 10,000 meters race, Gopi Chandra Parki in the 5,000 meters race, and Kiran Singh Bogadi in marathon. Also, Pushpa Bhandari had won the silver medal in the women’s category for Nepal. 

Likewise, Som Bahadur Kumal won bronze in the 800-meter race, Tanka Karki in the 1,500-meter race, Hari Kumar Rimal in the 5,000-meter race and Deepak Adhikari in the 10,000-meter race.

On the occasion, Ajit Kumar Yadav, who will be participating in the All India Junior Athletics Championship, was bid farewell. He will be competing in the 1,500-meter race. Yadav will also be participating in the World Under-20 junior Athletics Championship which will be held in Nairobi, Kenya, where he will be competing in the 3,000-meter race. 

Earlier, Yadav had won a gold medal at the Asian Junior Athletics Championship which was held in Hong Kong in 2018.


Leave A Comment