CPN-UML's Devraj Ghimire is new Speaker

Published On: January 19, 2023 03:23 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Jan 19: Devraj Ghimire of the CPN-UML has been elected as the Speaker of the House of Representatives (HoR).

Lawmaker Devraj Ghimire of the CPN-UML and Nepali Congress (NC) lawmaker Ishwari Neupane had filed their candidacies for the post of Speaker. In the HoR meeting on Thursday, 167 votes were cast in favor and 100 against the proposal to elect Ghimire as the Speaker.

Out of 275 members of the House of Representatives, 268 participated in the voting. One MP remained neutral.

CPN-UML, CPN (Maoist Center), Rastriya Prajatantra Party, Rastriya SwatantraParty, Janata Samajwadi Party, Janmat Party, Nagarik Unmukti Party and independent MPs Amresh Kumar Singh, Prabhu Shah and Yogendra Mandal voted in favor of Ghimire.

Ghimire was elected a HoR member from Jhapa-2.


Leave A Comment