Bohora shines in Province 3’s second successive win

Published On: May 3, 2019 12:12 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, May 3: Deepak Bohora’s all-round performance helped Province 3 secure second successive win in the ongoing Manmohan Memorial Inter-Province U-16 National Cricket Tournament by eight wickets against Karnali Province in a first round Group A match held at Tribhuvan University Cricket Ground in Kirtipur on Thursday.

Player of the match Bohora steered the chase scoring 35 runs from 24 deliveries including seven boundaries after picking up a five-wicket-haul to dismiss Karnali Province for 96 runs in 23 overs. Ashish Bhattari continued his good form with the bat scoring an unbeaten 31 runs from as many deliveries which included three boundaries to help winning team complete the chase in 11.1 overs.
Abhishek Upadhayay remained not out on 15 runs sharing an unbeaten partnership of 28 runs with Bhattarai to seal the victory by eight wickets. Sumit Majhi and Ritik Jung Shah shared a wicket each for Karnali. 

Earlier, Karnali won the toss and elected to bat first. Dilip Sunar, Binit Khattri and Unish Bikram Shah contributed 24, 25 and 22 runs respectively to help post a total of 96 runs. 

None of the other batsmen were able to reach double figures. Bohora’s five-wicket performance was aided by Semanta Ghimire’s 2, Sakriya Pratap Singh and Bharghav Chataut’s one wicket each. 

Province 3 is on the top of the Group A points table with four points after winning two out of two matches. Province 3 will play its last group match on Sunday against Sudur Paschim.

In the second Group A match of the day, Sachin Badayak’s three-wicket-haul helped Sudur Paschim down Gandaki Province by four wickets in a match played at the same venue.
Gandaki won the toss and elected to bat first but succumbed to 90 runs losing all its wickets in 20.5 overs. Badayak picked up three wickets conceding 19 runs in 3.5 overs. He was supported by skipper Suwash Ayer’s two wickets from four overs conceding 16 runs. 

Similarly, Govind Bist, Amrit Rawat and Ashish Bhatta shared a wicket each. Gandaki’s skipper Avishek Basnet remained unbeaten on 29 runs from 48 deliveries. 

In reply, Sudur Paschim completed the chase in 22.5 overs by four wickets. Sandesh Bhatta remained unbeaten of 38 runs from 52 deliveries which included four boundaries. Likewise, Anil Thapa scored 23 runs from 19 deliveries. Gandaki’s Nitesh Giri picked up three wickets.

Sudur Paschim is second on the Group A points table after a win in its first match. Similarly, Gandaki has now lost two matches in the ongoing nationals. In their respective matches, Sudur Paschim and Gandaki will play against Karnali on Friday and Saturday respectively.

Leave A Comment