Biratnagar: NC candidate Nagesh Koirala leading mayoral race

Published On: May 19, 2022 11:59 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, May 19: Nepali Congress (NC) candidate Nagesh Koirala and CPN-UML's Shilpa Karki have been leading in the vote counting for the posts of mayor and deputy mayor, respectively since the counting of votes started in Biratnagar Metropolitan City.

According to the tally till Thursday morning, NC’s Nagesh Koirala has received 17,598 votes. His closest rival Sagar Kumar Thapa of the CPN-UML has got 12,994 votes.

Independent candidate Umesh Kumar Yadav is in the third position. He has received 5,879 votes.

Similarly, for the post of deputy mayor, UML's Shilpa Karki is in the first position with 15,040 votes. Amarendra Yadav of Janata Samajbadi Party (JSP) has polled 9,177 votes so far.

RPP candidate Binda Kumari Luitel has secured 4,212 votes and is in the third position for the post of deputy mayor.


Leave A Comment