Bills on six constitutional commissions registered

Published On: September 15, 2016 07:57 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Sept 14: Government has registered bills to form six constitutional commissions in parliament on Wednesday.

Bills to establish Dalit, Inclusive, Ethnic and Indigenous, Madhesi, Tharu and Muslim commissions have been registered at the parliament, a move obligated by the new constitution. 

Ministry of Federal Affairs and Local Development registered a separate bill provisioning duty, responsibility, jurisdiction and other specification of the constitutional commission. Although the new constitution also provisions Natural Resources and Financial National Commission, to look into natural resources and other issues between provinces, the government is yet to finalize the related bill. Earlier, government had formed Language Commission without finalizing the bill related to the commission. 

The new constitution, which was promulgated last year, had given constitutional status to the existing Dalit Commission. The National Inclusive Commission bill has proposed jurisdiction of making studies and monitoring the implementation of constitutional rights given to backward, marginalized, and deprived and other communities. 

The constitution has not specified the duty, responsibility and jurisdiction of Madhesi, Tharu, Muslim and Ethnic and Indigenous commissions. Agitating Madhesi, Muslim, Tharu and other ethnic indigenous communities have demanded constitutional commissions for preserving their culture, languages and ensuring their constitutional rights. 

Government can establish the constitutional commissions after the endorsement of the bills from the parliament.

Leave A Comment