Bibeksheel Sajha Party not to vote in NA by-election today

Published On: May 20, 2021 10:06 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, May 20: The Bibeksheel Sajha Party has decided not to vote in the National Assembly by-election. 

Ramesh Poudyal, leader of the Bibeksheel Sajha Party, said in a statement that the party has decided not to vote in today's election. 

Issuing a statement, the party said that there are three Provincial Assembly members who are voters from Bibeksheel Sajha Party. Their total vote weight is 144. No candidate will get this vote. 

Poudyal said in a statement that the party has also decided to demand the government and the Election Commission to implement the no-vote option in the ballot papers as soon as possible.

The party also reminded that the Supreme Court had issued a directive order in the name of the government on January 5, 2014 to include 'No Vote' option in the ballot papers.

"It is regrettable that the government and the Election Commission have remained indifferent to the implementation of the order for more than seven years and have not included the option of 'none of the above candidates' in the ballot papers even before this National Assembly by-election," the statement read.

Home Minister Ram Bahadur Thapa 'Badal' left the party he was elected to and joined another party and is the CPN-UML candidate for the post. From the Maoist Center, Janata Samajbadi Party and UML's Madhav Nepal faction, Dr Khimlal Devkota has become the candidate. Similarly, Krishna Bahadur Tamang is the candidate from Nepal Workers peasants Party.


Leave A Comment