Bhim Acharya sworn in as Province 1 Chief Minister

Published On: August 26, 2021 12:50 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

BIRATNAGAR, August 26: Bhim Acharya has been sworn in as the Chief Minister of Province 1.  Province Chief Somraj Adhkari Pyasi administered the oath of office and secrecy to Acharya on Thursday.

A meeting of the CPN-UML parliamentary party held in Biratnagar earlier in the morning had elected Acharya as the Parliamentary Party (PP) leader of the UML. Incumbent Chief Minister Sher Dhan Rai had resigned from the post shortly after Acharya’s election as the PP leader. 

It was Chief Minister Rai, who had proposed Acharya as the PP leader of the party during the PP meeting held on Thursday. Sources said Chief Minister Rai decided to resign from the post as per the instruction received from the party’s headquarters.

Many within the CPN-UML say the post of Chief Minister is a reward given by Chairman K P Oli to Acharya for changing his allegiance. He was earlier close to the Madhav Kumar Nepal-led faction of the CPN-UML.  

Acharya, however, will not be able to stay in office as Chief Minister for long as lawmakers close to Madhav Kumar Nepal-led CPN (Unified Socialist) have already announced not to vote in his favor. He will be in office for a maximum one month or so.



Leave A Comment