Attariya secures playoff spot; Kathmandu, Chauraha, Mahendranagar unmoved

Published On: April 9, 2018 08:27 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

DHANGADHI, April 8: CYC Attariya has secured a playoff spot of the ongoing second Dhangadhi Premier League with a six-wicket win over Biratnagar Kings on the last day of the league phase round on Sunday.

Attariya, who had three points and was a point behind Biratnagar going into the game, managed to book the fourth place for the playoffs. Biratnagar finished fifth and got knocked out of the league phase, along with Rupandehi Challengers. 

Attariya won the toss and elected to field first. The opponent Biratnagar gave it a target of 55 runs for the loss of three wickets in six overs in the rain-affected match at the Seti Zone Police Cricket Ground. In reply, Attariya chased the target in 5.4 overs for the loss of four wickets. 

Hong Kong captain Babar Hayat and Anil Kumar Sah started for Biratnagar, with the latter hitting 15 runs off 12 runs including two sixes, while Hayat scored 14 runs off seven deliveries which included a four and a six. Likewise, Dilip Nath hit not-out 15 runs off nine balls with a six and a four, while captain Paras Khadka added nine runs off eight balls. Pawan Sarraf did not get to face a single ball despite being on the pitch. 

Kamal Singh Airee was the pick of the Attariya bowlers as he pocketed two wickets giving away 18 runs in the two overs he bowled. Similarly, Shuvankar Urao picked up a wicket giving away nine runs in an over. 

Despite Attariya’s openers failing to leave their mark in the match, the following batsmen Dipendra Singh Airee and Indian recruit Vipin Chandra played brilliantly to successfully chase the contest. Chandra scored 26 runs off 13 balls which included five boundaries, while Airee hit 20 runs off 15 balls including two sixes. Openers Gaurav Chitkara went for a duck, while Kushal Bhurtel added four runs off three balls with a four. Likewise, Aakash Thapa contributed a run, while Sandeep Jhora went back to the pavilion for a duck. 

For Biratnagar, Ramnaresh Giri and Khadka took two wickets each. Giri bowled two overs giving away 23 runs, while Khadka bowled 1.4 overs giving away 14 runs. Chandra was named the man-of-the-match and was rewarded with Rs 10,000. 

Earlier, in the other match played on the same day, table topper Kathmandu Goldens and Mahendranagar United shared a point each after the match was abandoned due to rain without a single ball being bowled.  

The playoffs round starts with the qualifier one as Kathmandu takes on Team Chauraha Dhangadhi, which will be the repeat of the curtain raiser of the tournament, when Kathmandu defeated the latter by seven wickets. Likewise, the eliminator will feature Mahendranagar playing against Attariya which will be the repeat of Saturday’s abandoned match. 

The winner of the qualifier one will directly reach the final, while the loser of that tie will play against the winner of the eliminator match in qualifier two and the winner of the qualifier two will battle the winner of the qualifier one for the title. 

Kathmandu topped the league table with nine points from five games, while Chauraha finished second with six points. Likewise, Mahendranagar secured the third spot with six points as well, while Attariya grabbed the fourth place with five points. 

TEAM    P    W    L    PTS    NRR
Kathmandu    5    4    0    9    1.148
Chauraha    5    3    2    6    -0.051
Mahendranagar    5    2    1    6    0.461
Attariya    5    2    2    5    1.283
Biratnagar    5    2    3    4    0.204
Rupandehi    5    0    5    0    -2.648

Day 9, Dhangadhi Premier League 
Match 2 

Biratnagar Kings 55/3 (6 overs) 
Nath 15, Sah 15, K Airee 18/2 

CYC Attariya 56/4 (5.4 overs) 
Chandra 26, D Airee 20, Khadka 14/2 
Attariya won by six wickets
Man of the match: Vipin Chandra


Leave A Comment