Aryan, Aadit into quarters

Published On: December 19, 2017 09:04 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Dec 19: Aryan Giri and Aadit Agrawal on Monday advanced to the quarterfinals of the ongoing 15th Jayakar Memorial National Junior Tennis Tournament. 

In the U-14 boys’ singles, Giri beat Safal Shrestha 6-1, 6-1 while Agrawal defeated Sakshyat Shahi 6-4, 0-6, 6-4. Likewise, Kubehang Chemjong overcame Ayush Gurung 6-0, 6-0 of the same category, while Saroj Tamang registered a 6-1, 4-6, 4-5 set victory over Pranav Manandhar. 

Azaa Regmi, Prakriti Shrestha and Sneha Yadav cruised into the quarterfinals beating their respective opponents. 

In the U-14 girls’ singles, Regmi beat Aisha Dolker Gurung 6-4, 6-4 while Shrestha defeated Sirista Rai 6-4, 6-3. Similarly, Yadav thumped Nimisha Dhakal 6-1, 6-3 of the same category. 

In the U-10 girls’ singles, Eva Adhikari and Utsha Limbu emerged victorious defeating Nala J Maskey and Adya Paudel 6-0, 6-0 and 6-2, 6-4 respectively on the same day to reach the semifinals. 

Similarly, in the U-9 boys’ singles, Darsheel Shrestha overcame Saswosat Bajracharya 4-0, 4-0, while Boris Adhikari beat Harsit Pant 4-0, 4-1 to book their places in the quarterfinals. 

In the U-9 girls’ singles, Jenny Khadka defeated Samragyee Lama 4-0, 4-0 to secure her last eight berth. 

In the girls’ doubles category, Prerana Koirala and Subhangee Laxmi Shah, and Isha Shree Shah and Sharvani Shrestha reached the last four. 

Prerana and Subhangee beat Sirista Rai and Azaa Regmi 6-1, 6-0, while Isha and Sharvani defeated Prakriti Shrestha and Sneha Yadav 6-1, 6-1. Also, Bijisha Shrestha and Abhilasha Bista overcame Anne Mathema and Catherine Mathema 6-1, 7-6. 


Leave A Comment