NSJF Pulsar Sports Award 2020

Aruna bags People’s Choice award, Gaurika and Mandekaji best athletes

Published On: January 13, 2021 12:56 PM NPT

KATHMANDU, Jan 13: Swimming sensation Gaurika Singh and Karate player Mandekaji Shrestha have been announced the best female and male athlete of the year respectively. The title was awarded at the NSJF Pulsar Sports Award 2020 presented on Tuesday.

They won the title in evaluation of their performance in the year 2076 BS (2019/20). Gaurika had bagged  four gold, two silver and three bronze medals in the 13th South Asian Games held in Nepal last year. Mandekaji had also won two gold medals in the 13th SAG. 

The Nepali National Women's Volleyball team was announced the best team of the year. The Nepali team had won the first AVC women's senior zone volleyball tournament held in Bangladesh in the reference year. The team had also won a historic silver medal in the 13th SAG. 

Arun Shahi, the captain of Nepal's Women's Volleyball team, claimed the 'People's Choice Award' based on the popular vote. 

Similarly, Golfer Subas Tamang was conferred the Best Youth Athlete Award.  He had won two gold medals in the 13th SAG. 

Head coach of Taekwando Nabin Kumar Shrestha was adjudged the best coach of the year. Table tennis players duo Geeta Chettri and Sijarin Shaha were honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award. Santoshi Shrestha of athletics and Ayasha Shakya of Taekwando won the Special Award for the year. 

In para-athletics, wheelchair basketball and cricket player Digam Singh Chemjong was honoured.

The award ceremony, which is held on July 2 (World Sports Journalists Day) every year by the Nepal Sports Journalists Forum (NSJF), was postponed owing to COVID-19 pandemic earlier this year. 

The best male and female athletes, best coach and best youth athlete received a Pulsar motorcycle each. Other winners received Rs. 50,000 in cash each. 

The event was held in a semi-virtual manner at the Karate hall in Satdobato, Lalitpur.


Leave A Comment