Army’s Bhatta, APF’s Chaudhary named best volleyball players of the year

Published On: January 26, 2019 08:51 AM NPT

KATHMANDU, Jan 26: The Nepal Volleyball Association (NVA) has named departmental club players Dhan Bahadur Bhatta and Saraswati Chaudhary the best players of the year in the NVA Awards on Friday.

In the award ceremony, Tribhuvan Army Club’s Bhatta was named the best player in men’s category, and Chaudhary of Armed Police Force (APF) Club was adjudged the best player in women’s category.

Bhatta and Chaudhary were awarded on the basis of their brilliant performances in the tournaments played in and outside Kathmandu. They got Rs 25,000 each.

Likewise, APF’s Binod Bahadur Chand was named the rising talent in men’s category, while Army’s open spiker Niruta Thagunna was adjudged as the rising talent in women’s category. 

Also, APF’s Gyanendra Bista won the award for the best coach of women’s team, while Army’s Kapil Kishor Shrestha won the award for the best coach of men’s team. 

Similarly, APF was named the best women’s team, while Army won the award as the best men’s team. Both the teams got a cash prize of Rs 100,000 each. 

On the same occasion, former captains Bharat Shah and Anju Shrestha were felicitated for their contribution to the game during the years they played. They were rewarded with a cash prize of Rs 25,000 each. 

Leave A Comment