Army ‘A’, Xavier record second consecutive win

Published On: April 17, 2018 08:01 AM NPT By: Republica

KATHMANDU, April 17: The departmental team’s Tribhuvan Army Club ‘A’ and Xavier International College have registered their second consecutive wins in men’s category of the ongoing first 
Manmohan Memorial Open Basketball Tournament on Monday. 

Army ‘A’ beat Ballerz Basketball Club 74-57 in which Sadish Pradhan scored the highest 24. 
Army ‘A’ won the first quarter 26-14, while it lost the second 16-18. 

Recovering brilliantly, Army ‘A’ won the third quarter 16-6 and the fourth 16-13 to register its second victory. 

Xavier defeated Army ‘B’ in a narrow margin win of 74-72 in which Xavier’s Nikesh Magar scored the highest 23.

Xavier lost the first quarter 15-22, but won the second and the third quarter to win the match. 
It won the second quarter 22-17, and the third 23-13. Army ‘B’ won the fourth quarter 20-14, but could not overturn the aggregate score in its favor. 

In the other match played on the same day, Budhanilkantha saw off Universal 79-62 in which the 
winning team’s Biraj Rana scored the highest 17. 

Similarly, in women’s category, Samriddha Gorillas saw off NECOS easily with a 48-5 score to secure a last four place in which Muna Maharjan scored the highest 15 for the winning team. 

NECOS has been knocked out from Group ‘B’ which has three teams. NECOS was earlier defeated by Saipal Academy which saw the 
latter reaching the semifinals. 

Leave A Comment