APF, Rising to vie for Attariya Cup title

Published On: May 8, 2017 09:50 PM NPT By: DIL BAHADUR CHHATYAL

ATTARIYA, May 8: Armed Police Force (APF) and Kathmandu's Rising Cricket Women are set to battle for the title of the ongoing Ruslan Attariya Cup T20 Cricket Tournament. 

To book their places in the summit clash, APF overcame Kalali District Cricket Academy by 82 runs in the first semifinal while Rising defeated Milan Cricket Academy (MCA) by 19 runs in the second semifinal. 

Now the final will be played on Tuesday at APF's cricket ground, Attariya. 

In the first semifinal match of the tournament played at SSP Cricket Ground, Attariya, the winning side APF won the toss and decide to bat first before making 150 runs losing five wickets in 20 overs. 

Karuna Bhandari stroked highest 42 runs smashing one six and six boundaries facing 29 balls.

Earlier, opener Jyoti Pandey gave a solid start to the innings making 40 runs, hitting seven boundaries off 44 balls. She also built a 35-run partnership with Karuna, who came to bat at number four. Similarly, Binu Buda Magar contributed 21 runs hitting three boundaries off 15 balls to make a respectable total. Kailali's Kabita Kunwar claimed three wickets. Similarly, Anjali Chand and Laxmi Saud took one wicket each. 

In reply, Kailali was packed for just 68 runs after APF's bowlers displayed impressive bowling.

Player-of-the-match Binu Budha Magar was the pick of APF's bowlers as she took three wickets while Sita Rana Magar and Sarita Magar took two wickets each. Kabita Kunwar (8), Chadani Shah (5) and Sushma Shrestha (0) all were sent to pavilion in Binu's deliveries. Opener Nitu Bhandari stroked highest 17 runs for Kailali while none other batswomen touched double digit. Shova Rokaya and Anjali Chand contributed seven and four runs respectively for the losing team.  Similarly, Karuna Bhandari, Ritu Kanojiya and Sarita Magar took one wicket each for APF. 

Meanwhile in the second semifinal match, Rising was invited to bat first after losing the toss and made a total of 119 runs losing three wickets in 20 overs. Opener  Pooja Nimavat stroked highest 47 runs hitting three boundaries facing 55 balls while unbeaten Shampa Mukharjee made 42 runs, smashing six boundaries off 35 balls. Similarly, Shahanaz Prabin contributed 17 runs with the help of three boundaries facing 24 balls.  MCA's Saraswati Chaudhary took two wickets while Anuradha Chaudhary added another. 

In reply, national team captain Rubina Chhetri-led MCA was packed for 110 runs. Skipper Chettri gave a positive start to the innings, making highest 39 runs but the Jhapa-based outfit lost its middle order batswomen cheaply. Opener Kajol Shrestha was ducked in Nary Thapa Magar's delivery while the former national captain also sent Roma Thapa (2) and Muskan Begam (15) to the pavilion.

Player-of-the-match Pooja Nimavat was the pick of Rising's bowlers as she claimed four wickets.

Vancy Chaudhary (6), Annuradha Chaudhary (7) and Sangita Rai (1) were sent to the pavilion in Pooja's deliveries. Forgein recruit Pooja also ducked Sabnam Rai. Aarati Bidari claimed two wickets for Rising while Imanit Khatiwada added another.  

The champion of the tournament will bag a purse of Rs 200,000 while the runner-up will be rewarded with Rs 100,000. Similarly the best player will take home Rs 25,000 while the best batswoman, bowler and wicketkeeper will get Rs 10,000 each. 

Leave A Comment