ANNFSU clean-sweeps RR student election

Published On: March 29, 2017 11:00 PM NPT By: Republica

KATHMANDU, March 29: All Nepal National Free Students Union (ANNFSU), the student wing of the main opposition CPN-UML, has won the Free Students Union (FSU) election held at Ratna Rajya (RR) Campus in the capital on Tuesday, registering a clean-sweep victory.  

ANNFSU's Tapendra Jung Shahi, who received 699 ovotes, has become the 15th president of the FSU. His closest contender, Uttam Bahadur Saud of Nepal Student Union (NSU) affiliated to the ruling Nepali Congress received 367 votes. 

Similarly, ANNFSU's  Narayan Sharma and Shri Krishna Upreti have been elected the vice-president and secretary of the FSU. Likewise, Sangam Devkota has been elected the treasurer along with seven members which includes Dipak Khatiwada, Madan Bhandari, Janak shahi  Thakuri , Ujjwol Neupane , Dinesh Bajgain, Shyam BK, Sujata Dhakal and Urbar Singh.

Students started arriving at the campus from early morning to cast their votes. Though voting started early in the morning, it was over by noon.

The counting of votes began at 7 pm. Out of the 3,581 students, only 1,276 exercised their voting right. Some of the student unions didn't participate in the election which was one of the reasons why the number of voters was less, according to the campus administration. Violent protests from the agitating students became a great threat to some students due to which they could not go for voting.

More than 400 security personnel were deployed on the college premises to prevent any untoward incident. Despite some obstruction from the agitating student wings, the campus administration was successful in conducting the election.

Leave A Comment