APF player of the year award

Anjan Bista gets cash incentive from APF

Published On: January 9, 2017 06:20 AM NPT By: Republica

KATHMANDU, Jan 9: National football team striker Anjan Bista was awarded Rs 75,000 as motivational amount by Armed Police Force (APF) during the player of the year ceremony of the department organized on Sunday at its headquarters in Halchowk, Kathmandu. 

Anjan was named one among the six most valuable players of APF. Other players include Sunil Lama of karate, Saraswati Rana and Purna Bahadur Lama of boxing, Saraswati Chaudhary of volleyball besides Anjan's elder brother Ranjan, who is also a footballer.

APF IGP Durja Kumar Rai gave away the awards.

According to APF, the players were rewarded on the basis of their performance throughout last year.  The department rewarded a total of 31 players. However, Anjan was the only player to get cash incentive. He will be leaving for Spain on Monday to appear in trial with the local clubs there.  

It was the third occasion APF has organized player of the year award ceremony.

Footballers Milan Rai and Anita Basnet, volleyball's Mahendra Shrestha and Binita Budathoki, cricketers Basanta Regmi and Karuna Bhandari were honored with player of the year award in the past.  

The other players to receive same honors were, Sichhya Shrestha and Bishal Pradhan of badminton, Manoj Thagunna and Uma Rai of handball, Puran Rai and Mala Rai of boxing, Anu Adikari, Bijay Lama and Sunil Lama of karate, Bharat Bohara and Apsara Karki of taekwondo. 

Similarly, wushu players Mangal Prasad Tharu and Sushmita Tamang; athletes Gopi Chandra Parki and Kanchhi Maya Koju; Shiva Sundar Gothe and Selisha Khadgi of table tennis; Shyam Krishna Shrestha of ITF taekwondo; and Devika Khadka of judo were also given player of the year awards. 

Speaking on the occasion, IGP Rai said that high level performance of APF players has raised the pride of the department. “The players had worked really hard and we feel proud to be an established name in Nepali sports despite being the youngest departmental team,” he said, adding that the outcome they have achieved has proved that they have the best players of the country. 

Meanwhile, APF also honored various institutions for supporting sports activities of the departmental team. He distributed letter of appreciation to Ramesh Rupakheti of RJ Sports, Agni Group Director Arjun Sharma, All Nepal Football Association General Secretary Dhirendra Pradhan, Pramod Prasad Chaudhary of Chaudhary Group. 

Leave A Comment