ANFA announces Nepali team for AFC U-20 Women's Asia Cup qualifiers

Published On: March 4, 2023 10:00 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, March 4: The Nepali team for the AFC U-20 Women's Asia Cup qualifiers has been announced. Chief Coach Yam Prasad Gurung has selected the final team of 23 people on Friday, according to All Nepal Football Association (ANFA).

Three changes have been made to the Nepali team that became runners-up in the SAFF U-20 Championship in Bangladesh. In the place of injured Kusum Khatiwada and Anjali Chand, Jennifer Rana and Sandipa Bholan have been included in the team.

Similarly, Hima Rawat is included in the team instead of Sajni Thoker. National team members Priti Rai, Amisa Karki and Deepa Shahi are also included in the team.

Nepal is in Group B in the qualifiers to be held from March 8 to March 12. Palestine and Northern Maria Island are in this group. The match of this group will be played in Palestine.

The teams participating in the U-20 Women's Asia Cup qualifiers have been divided into eight groups. The winning team of each group will enter the second round. From the second stage, four teams will be selected for the final stage.

Four teams have directly qualified for the AFC U-20 Women's Asia Cup to be held in Uzbekistan from March 3 to March 16, 2024.  along with the host Uzbekistan, the winner of the last edition in 2019, Japan, the second-placed North Korea, and the third-placed South Korea have qualified. 

Nepali Team includes:

Goalkeepers: Kabita BK, Savitri Kisan, Lila Joshi

Defenders: Sabina Chaudhary, Hima Rawat, Saru Hamal, Sunila Bhulan, Divya Yasmali Magar, Pratiksha Chaudhary, Kumari Tamang

Midfielders: Tulsa Bohra, Jennifer Rana, Sarah Bajracharya, Sunkala Rai, Manmaya Damai, Preeti Rai, Anjali Machamasi, Saraswati Hamal, Deepa Shahi

Forwards: Garima Rai, Amisa Karki, Mamta Pun, Sandipa Bholan

Leave A Comment