Aaditya, Aryan and Chirag reach quarterfinals

Published On: October 31, 2017 07:15 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Oct 31: Nepal’s Aaditya Subedi, Aryan Giri, and Chirag Timilsina have advanced to the boys’ singles quarterfinals of the ongoing Kesha Group ANLTA Nepal Asian 14 and Under Tennis Championship Circuit One on Monday. 

In the first round matches played at Satdobato Tennis Court, Lalitpur, Aaditya overcame his countryman Aki Zuben Rawat 3-6, 6-2, 6-4 while Aryan and Chirag defeated Indian opponents Harisharan Baskaran and Samrit Sharma 6-2, 6-0 and 6-3, 6-4 respectively. 

Similarly in the same section, two other players Aarav Hada and Aadit Subedi also secured their berths in the last eight. Aarav and Aadit beat Evyak Joshi and Pranav Manandhar of Nepal with the score-lines of 6-0, 6-1 and 6-1, 6-0 respectively.

Likewise, two Indian players -- Rusikesh Sunkara and Sivasamy Ramalingam Nathin Ram -- also advanced to the quarter finals. Rusikesh overcame Nepal’s Nishan Shrestha 6-0, 6-1 to book his place in the last eight while Sivasamy beat his countryman Arya Mundhra 6-1, 6-2. 

In the girls’ singles section, Isha Shree Shah, Sneha Yadav and Rayana Shah of Nepal reached the quarterfinals. Isha and Sneha overcame Prakriti Shrestha and Nimisha Dhakal of Nepal with the score-lines of 6-3, 6-3 and 6-2, 6-3 respectively. Likewise, Rayana defeated Shubhangee Laxmi Shah in the straight sets of 6-1, 6-2 to book her place in the last eight. 

In other first round matches of the same section, India’s Riya Natharoo and host nation’s Sharvani Shrestha and Saloni Tamang also emerged victorious and secured their berths in the quarterfinals. 
Riya beat Prachi Mantri of same team 6-2, 6-2 while Sharvani and Saloni registered wins over Utsha Lama Saloni Tamang with the score-lines of 6-0, 6-0 and 6-2, 6-1 respectively. 

Boys’ Doubles 
The Nepali pair comprising of Aryan Giri and Aarav Hada reached the boys’ doubles semifinals of the competition. Aryan and Aarav overcame other Nepali pair of Pranav Manandhar and Chirag Timilsina in the straight sets of 6-0, 6-2. Likewise, Indian pair of Harisharan Baskaran and Sivasamy Ramalingam Nathin Ram defeated their countrymen Arya Mundhra and Samprit Sharma 6-4, 3-6, 10-7 and made place in the last four. 

Likewise, the pair of Aadit Subedi and Aaditya Subedi from Nepal also advanced to the semifinal defeating their countrymen Evyak Joshi and Aki Zuben Rawat in the straight sets of 6-1, 6-1. 

Girls’ Doubles
In the girls’ doubles section, the pair of Isha Shree Shah and Sharvani Shrestha of the host country defeated their colleagues Lumu Tso Lama and Rosani Limbu 6-3, 6-4 to secure their places in the semifinals. 

In the same category, the pair of Prachi Mantri (India) and Shubhangee Laxmi Shah (Nepal) also emerged victorious as they beat the pair of Nimisha Dhakal (Nepal) and Aisha Dolker Gurung (Nepal) 6-1, 6-1 and reached the last four. 

The other pair to book their places in the last four was Riya Matharoo (India) and Rayana Shah (Nepal) as they overcame the pair comprising of Prakriti Shrestha (Nepal) and Sneha Yadav (Nepal) in the straight sets of 6-0, 6-3.

Leave A Comment